Awards set to recognise outstanding efforts

The best performing New Zealand Football players will have their efforts recognised when the annual New Zealand Football Awards are staged in conjunction with Friends of Football and the New Zealand Football Foundation on September 8 in Auckland.

The awards cover performances and achievements in the 2017 calendar year and include both football and the small-sided game of futsal.

The football nominations celebrate the elite level of the game through performances for national teams but also recognise the community game, in which the best performing players from the winning teams in each of the main national competitions (ISPS Handa Premiership, National Women’s League, ISPS Handa Chatham Cup and Football Foundation Kate Sheppard Cup), as well as the OFC Champions League, have been nominated.

The MVP from the 2017 National Women’s League has also been included but there were no official MVP awards in any of the other national football competitions in 2017.

The futsal nominations likewise reflect performances both on the international stage and in New Zealand Football’s range of national competitions.

A pair of complimentary tickets to the ceremony will be provided to each nominee and a limited number of tickets are also available for the wider public to purchase, see below for details.

What: New Zealand Football Awards Dinner 2018
Where: Remuera Club, 27-33 Ohinerau Street, Remuera
When: Saturday 8 September, 7pm
Dress: Business attire
Cost: $69 (includes three-course meal, live band, complimentary drink on arrival and then cash bar)
RSVP by: Monday 20 August

For more information or to book please email

New Zealand Football Awards Nominees

Men’s Player of the Year

Stefan Marinovic (SpVgg Unterhaching/Vancouver Whitecaps/All Whites)
Winston Reid (West Ham United/All Whites)
Ryan Thomas (PEC Zwolle/All Whites)
Chris Wood (Leeds United/Burnley/All Whites)
Justin Gulley (Team Wellington)
Jo Dawkins (Onehunga Sports)
Angel Berlanga (Auckland City)

Futsal Men’s Player of the Year

Lucas Da Silva (Capital Futsal/Futsal Whites)
Kareem Osman (AFF Futsal/Futsal Whites)
Michael Sannum (Southern United)

Women’s Player of the Year

Erin Nayler (Girondins Bordeaux/Football Ferns)
Ali Riley (FC Rosengard/Football Ferns)
Rebekah Stott (Seattle Reign/Melbourne City/Football Ferns)
Rosie White (Boston Breakers/Football Ferns)
Eleanor Isaac (Southern United)
Jacqui Hand (Auckland Football)
Kate Loye (Glenfield Rovers)

Futsal Women’s Player of the Year

Shivanthi Anthony (AFF Futsal/Futsal Ferns)
Britney-Lee Nicholson (Canterbury United Pride/Futsal Ferns)
Jess Verdon (AFF Futsal/Futsal Ferns)

Young Player of the Year

Dane Ingham (Brisbane Roar/All Whites)
Clayton Lewis (Auckland City/Scunthorpe United/All Whites)
Anna Leat (East Coast Bays/Football Ferns)
Malia Steinmetz (Forrest Hill Milford United/Football Ferns)
Taylor Schrijvers (Team Wellington)
Britney Cunningham-Lee (Auckland Football)

Coach of the Year

Anthony Hudson (All Whites)
Darren Bazeley (New Zealand U-20)
Jose Figueira (Team Wellington)
Gemma Lewis (Auckland Football)
Hiroshi Miyazawa (Onehunga Sports)
Andy Clay (Glenfield Rovers)
Ramon Tribulietx (Auckland City)

Futsal Coach of the Year

Nic Downes (AFF Futsal/Futsal Ferns)
Darren Hart (Southern United)
Ronan Naicker (Canterbury United Pride/U-18 Futsal Ferns)

Referee of the Year

Matt Conger
Simon Lount
Anna-Marie Keighley
Antony Riley
Nick Waldron

Futsal Referee of the Year

Antony Barnes
Antony Riley
Chris Sinclair

Team of the Year

All Whites
New Zealand U-20 men
Team Wellington men
Auckland Football women
Onehunga Sports men
Glenfield Rovers women
Auckland City men

Futsal Team of the year

Southern United men
Futsal Ferns
U-18 Futsal Ferns

Article added: Monday 06 August 2018

Latest News