University of Canterbury dominate the 2022 National Tertiary Futsal Championships

University of Canterbury's men's and women's squads celebrating their trophy haul

Following four action-packed days of Universities from across Aotearoa battling it out on the futsal court in Christchurch’s MainPower Stadium, the 2022 Tertiary Futsal Championships came to a close on Sunday 4th September. 

University of Canterbury dominated on their home turf claiming the title of champions in both the Men’s and Women’s competition. Victoria University and University of Auckland finished 2nd place in the men’s and women’s competitions respectively. 

The final tables and results throughout the tournament as well as video replays of each day can be viewed here.

Video highlights of the event will be released shortly, and will be able to be viewed on the New Zealand Football YouTube channel.

Thanks to UTSNZ, all University staff, managers, players, supporters, Shuriken NZ, Marc Matsas and the rest of the commentary team, Mainland Football, the referee team, and last but not least the MainPower staff, for coming together and delivering on what was a memorable tournament for all involved.


Men’s Champions - University of Canterbury

Women’s Champions - University of Canterbury

Men’s MVP - Kosei Oikawa, University of Canterbury

Women’s MVP - Jordana Bremner, University of Auckland

Men’s 2nd Place - Victoria University

Women’s 2nd Place - University of Auckland

Men’s Golden Boot - Andrew Olsen, University of Waikato

Women’s Golden Boot - Hannah Reddy, AUT

Men’s Golden Glove - Lewis Guy, University of Canterbury

Women’s Golden Glove - Ellie Smith, University of Canterbury

Team Spirit Award - Massey University Men

Article added: Monday 05 September 2022


Latest News