Squads confirmed for 2022 FISU World University Futsal Championships

New Zealand Football is pleased to confirm the women’s and men’s squads for the 2022 FISU World University Futsal Championships, for the first international futsal action for Aotearoa New Zealand teams since 2019.

The tournaments will be played from 18-24 July in Braga and Guimarães, Portugal. This is the first time Aotearoa New Zealand has been represented at the FISU World University Futsal Championships since the 2018 edition of the tournament in Kazakhstan.

Both squads contain several capped Futsal Ferns and Futsal Whites, and head coaches Nic Downes (women) and Marvin Eakins (men) are excited for the opportunity to get back on the international futsal court.

The event is a fantastic opportunity for the players to gain international experience, says Downes.

“The quality of opposition we have faced in previous editions has been high and this has proven to be beneficial for many of our current Futsal Ferns who have progressed through this event into the national side,” he says.

This is echoed by Eakins.

“These players will get to showcase how they stack up in this environment and put their hand up to be selected for future Futsal Whites games,” he says.

Kiwi sides have enjoyed previous successes at World University Futsal Championships since first participating in 2016. Futsal history was made in 2018, as the women’s side secured Aotearoa New Zealand’s first ever win at a world event in their opening fixture against the host nation. Britney-Lee Nicholson, also named in the 2022 squad, was a goal scorer in that historic 5-1 win. The men’s team followed suit for their first win soon after, netting a 2-1 victory over Israel. Jordi Ditfort, also named in the 2022 squad, was on the scoresheet that day.


Women’s squad


Mackenzie Falco; University of Canterbury; Mainland

Hannah Milligan; AUT; NRF

Sophie Williams*; University of Canterbury; Mainland

Ella James*; University of Auckland; NRF

Rebecca Lake; University of Canterbury; Mainland

Emily Gillion; Massey University; NRF

Lilly Muspratt; University of Waikato; WaiBoP

Jennifer Merkin; University of Canterbury; Mainland

Samantha Whyte; University of Canterbury; Capital

Frankie Morrow; University of Canterbury; Mainland

Alosi Bloomfield; University of Auckland; NRF

Ellena Firth; University of Canterbury; Mainland

Eve Barry; Victoria University of Wellington; Central

Britney-Lee Nicholson*; University of Canterbury; Mainland


Men’s squad

Patrick Steele; University of Waikato; WaiBoP

Sean Beresford; Victoria University of Wellington; Capital

Logan Wisnewski*; University of Waikato; WaiBoP

Hamish Grey; Massey University; NRF

Ethan Martin; University of Waikato; WaiBoP

Oban Hawkins*; Otago University; Football South

Jordi Ditfort*; University of Waikato; WaiBoP

Hemi Innes; University of Canterbury; Mainland

Tyler Ericksen; University of Waikato; WaiBoP

Thomas Picken; University of Auckland; NRF

Casey Sharplin; University of Waikato; WaiBoP

Aidan Robson; University of Waikato; WaiBoP

Rahan Ali; Open Polytechnic; Football South

Kyle Wisnewski; University of Waikato; WaiBoP


Non-travelling reserves

Chris Preece

Connor McConchie

Mazen Rabih

Davis Vhavha


* Indicates capped Futsal Fern or Futsal White


The following countries are also competing in the women’s competition: Argentina; Brazil; Czech Republic; Germany; Israel; Saudi Arabia; Lebanon; Poland; Portugal; Ukraine

The following countries are also competing in the men’s competition: Argentina; Brazil; Czech Republic; Israel; Saudi Arabia; Morocco; Oman; Poland; Portugal; Slovakia; Ukraine

The draw will be made at a later date.

Article added: Thursday 09 June 2022


Latest News