NZFMA awards finalists announced

The finalists for the New Zealand Football Media Association awards have been determined. They are:

Programme of the Year
Ellerslie, edited by Tim Adams
Papatoetoe AFC, produced by Andrew Kirk & Dana Jenkins
Waitemata, edited by Mark Reid

Publication of the Year
Friends of Football official magazines, edited by Josh Easby
The National League Debates, by Bruce Holloway

Writer of the Year
Michael Burgess (NZ Herald, Herald on Sunday)
Enzo Giordani (
Steven Holloway (NZ Herald)

Community-Internet Writer of the Year
Enzo Giordani (
Phillip Rollo (Nelson Mail)
Dave Webster (

Photographer of the Year
Andrew Cornaga (Photosport)
Shane Wenzlick (Phototek)

Website of the Year, Dieter Dvorak, Dave Webster, Yellow Fever, Enzo Giordani

Audio Broadcaster of the Year
Jason Pine (NZME)
Yellow Fever – In The Zone (Dale Warburton, Guy Smith, Evald Subasic, David Cross)

Television Broadcaster of the Year
Jason Pine (Sky TV)
Gordon Glen Watson

The New Zealand Football Media Association started life as the New Zealand Soccer Writers’ Association and was set up primarily to help sports journalists cover the Rothmans League, founded in 1970 and notable as the country’s first national league in any sport. The association’s first media awards were made in 1980, with a Writer of the Year and Programme of the Year recognised. Further categories were added in photography in 1981 and broadcasting in 1986. The awards have since evolved to incorporate publications, a regional-community-website writer category, and website of the year.

The NZFMA began collaborating with Friends of Football two years ago. Its awards were presented at the FoF Celebration of Excellence dinner at Auckland Grammar in 2014 and 2015, and Friends of Football are also involved in this year’s dinner being organised by New Zealand Football to mark their 125th anniversary.

Related Topics: