Who0le of Football Plan


Northern, Capital main challengers to Auckland’s Women’s League dominance

The ASB Women’s Youth League kicks off this weekend with six-time winners Auckland Football once again favourites but likely to face firm challenges from Northern Football and Capital Football.

January 18, 2011

AUCKLAND – The ASB Women’s Youth League kicks off this weekend with six-time winners Auckland Football once again favourites but likely to face firm challenges from Northern Football and Capital Football.

The 2011 season is the first of three years with age limitations transitioning back to an unrestricted national league in 2014 and this year will be contested by U-20 teams with five overage players per squad, although only three of those can take the field at one time.

Despite the age cap, 19 current or former Football Ferns will suit up when the season begins on Saturday, and while the majority will play in the league’s Northern Conference, the champions won’t enjoy the mortgage on international experience that has characterised previous title winning sides.

Auckland’s first team can still call on the services of veteran Maia Jackman and Football Fern midfielder Annalie Longo, striker Rosie White and also Hannah Wall who played for Capital against Auckland in the last final, and have a depth of age-group internationals to suggest they will be in contention when the playoffs start in March.

However, Football Ferns Aroon Clansey and Abby Erceg have been drafted in to an Auckland Development squad, bolstering a very young side which competes in the league for the first time.

North of the Harbour Bridge, former Football Fern midfielder Priscilla Duncan leads what looks like the main challenger to Auckland’s dominance, captaining a Northern Football squad boasting eight players capped at senior international level while another, New Zealand goalkeeper Jenny Bindon, is also involved as assistant coach.

Spearheaded by Sarah McLaughlin, Waikato-Bay of Plenty loom as the dark horse in the Northern Conference, drawing on a core of players who won the 2010 Women’s Knockout Cup with Claudelands Rovers.

In the Southern Conference, 2004 Champions and five-time finalists Capital Football shape as the team to beat with perennial Golden Boot contender Renee Leota fronting their attack once again, and former internationals Emily McColl and Emma Humphries driving the midfield.

Meanwhile New Zealand fullback Anna Green, who notched a hat trick for Auckland in the 2009 final, will return to Palmerston North to lead Central Football’s campaign, while Mainland Pride and Football South have both named young squads with one eye on building player depth.

The League begins on Saturday with the two Auckland sides square of at Keith Hay Park, and Northern meets Waikato-BOP at Fred Taylor Park in Whenuapai. Capital open their season in Dunedin against Football South while on Sunday Mainland welcome Central to Christchurch’s Linfield Park.

ASB Women’s Youth League
Squad Lists

Key:  (O) = overage player. Bold = capped at senior international level

Northern Football
1-Pam Yates (GK)(O), 2-Tiffany Paterson, 3-Mel Ray (O), 4-Katie Bowen, 5-Caitlin Smallfield, 6-Samantha Rogers, 7-Caitlin Campbell, 8-Natalie Wimbrow, 9-Nikki Coulin, 10-Jess Innes, 11-Tayla O’Brien, 12-Hannah Hoeksema, 13-Erin Naylor (GK), 14-Katie McDonald, 15-Priscilla Duncan (captain) (O), 16-Megan Lee, 17-Katie Rood, 18-Chloe Wilson, 19-Kate Seatter, 20-Rebecca O’Neill (O), 21-Bridgette Armstrong, 22-Hannah Wilkinson, 24-Elizabeth Milne (O).
Coach: Nathan Janes
Assistant Coach: Jenny Bindon

Auckland Football
1-Ashleigh Cox (GK)(O), 2-Courteney van Lieshout, 3-Rachel Head, 4-Jessie Verdon, 5-Briony Fisher, 6-Hannah Carlsen, 7-Stephanie Skilton, 8-Rebecca Burrows, 9-Hannah Wall, 10-Annalie Longo, 11-Rosie White, 12-Claudia Crasborn, 13-Nadia Pearl (captain), 14-Jolene Muir, 15-Maia Jackman (O), 16-Jessica Reddaway (GK), 17-Sivitha Boyce, 18-Leanne Tiffen (O), 19-Martine Puketapu, 20-Casey Ridsdale, 21-Daisy Cleverley, 22-Chelsea Strickland, 23-Chelsey Wood (O), 24-Olivia Willetts.
Coach: Paul Temple
Assistant coaches: Angela Wallbank-Valamaka

Auckland Football Development
1-Aroon Clansey (GK)(O), 2-Michelle Windsor, 3-Libby Williams, 4-Jessie Mathews, 5-Abby Erceg (O), 6-Tessa Berger, 7-Lucy Carter, 8-Tina Kolose, 9-Stephanie Eaton, 10-Jessica Snell, 11-Renata Gottgtroy, 12-Ellie Jeurissen, 13-Melissa Tebay, 14-Tayla Hetherington, 15-Min Khanthee, 16-Joanna Kennedy (GK), 17-Stephanie Trowill, 18-Sarah Blyde, 19-Raima Harding, 20-Anna Fraser, 21-Kristen Molloy, 22-Danielle Bradley (GK), 23-Hannah Kraakman, 24-Kelsie Chapman.
Coach: Andrew Clay

Waikato-BOP Football
1-Naomi Carter (GK), 2-Alex Shadbolt (O), 3-Keri O'Connell,
4-Kylie Jens, 5-Kate Carlton, 6-Helen Collins (O), 7-Holly Patterson, 8-Sarah McLaughlin, 9-Alice Bennett, 10-Rachel Porteous, 11-Katherine Robinson, 12-Nicole Stratford (O), 13-Kate Loye, 14-Jordanne Bates, 15-Anna Fullerton, 16-Olivia Chance, 17-Sara Merritt, 18-Holly Nixon (O), 19-Tessa Leong, 20-Brianna Stewart, 21-Georgia Boden, 22-Amanda Wilshier (GK), 23-Jacinta Coleman, 24-Grace Parkinson
Coach: Dave Edmondson

Central Football
1-Chloe-May Guerts (GK), 2-Torepe Taumaunu, 3-Jess Oughlahan, 4-Anna Green (O), 5-Caitlyn Bloxham, 6-Charlotte Harris, 7-Jane Barnett, 8-Tiffany Kawana-Waugh(O), 9-Rhonda Bridges (O), 10-Rosie Missen, 11-Nicole Baird, 12-Nikki Wenzlick (O), 14-Kowhai Hudson, 15-Letitia Hansen, 16-Kelly  Black, 17-Coral Seath, 18-Rachel Ingram (GK), 19-Catherine Pretty, 20-Rosie Morgan.
Coach: Brett Angel
Assistant coach: Emma Boyack

Capital Football
1-Ronisa Lipi (GK), 2-Catherine  Bott, 3-Tamsin Brown, 4-Tessa McPherson, 5-Amanda Rasch, 6-Evie Millynn, 7-Emily Stotter, 8-Megan Robertson, 9-Emma Humphries (O), 10-Ana Olssen (O), 11-Chelsea O’Callaghan, 12-Emily McColl (O), 13-Emma Rolston, 14-Renee Leota (O), 15-Briar Palmer, 16-Lauren Sturgeon, 17-Emma Evans, 18-Ashlee Delahunty (O), 19-Rebecca Jefferies, 20-Lucy Stotter, 21-Renee Bacon, 22-Corina Brown (GK), 23-Kennedy Bryant, 24-Maxine Cooper.
Coach: Peter Royle
Assistant Coach: Mariko Kirkcaldie

Mainland Pride
1-Victoria Esson (GK), 2-Emily Jensen, 3-Isla Smith, 4-Zara Walker, 5-Maia Vink, 6-Chelsea Bignal (O), 7-Laura Merrin, 8-Rachel Brodie, 9-Monique Barker, 10-Hannah Wong, 11-Haley McKnight, 12-Belinda Van Noorden, 13-Gabrielle Brodie, 14-Mikayla Weblets, 15-Alana Ainsworth, 16-Ashleigh Ward, 17-Lauren Dabner, 18-Bridget Milne, 19-Meikayla Moore, 20-Megan Shea  (GK), 21-Lilly Allfield (GK), 22-Lara Malcolm (GK), 23-Greer Smith.
Coach: Mike De Bono
Assistant Coach: Alana Gunn

Football South
1-Tess Nichol (GK), 2-Amber Mulhill Larsen, 3-Kelsey Kennard, 4-Annie Gilchrist, 5-Sara Stannard, 6-Georgia Brown, 7-Jordyn Walker, 8-Kushla Glover, 9-Mary Fraser, 10-Sam Muirhead, 11-Amelia Currier, 12-Samantha Sewpersad, 13-Melissa Todd, 14-Sahara Macdonald, 15-Shontelle Smith, 16-Paige Aitcheson, 17-Holly Smaill, 18-Claire McCorkindale, 19-Dayna McFadyen, 20-Charley Kerry, 21-Polly Inglis, 22-Jaala Bartlett (GK), 23-Chelsea Whittaker,  24-Ana Keelty.
Coach: Darren Rewi
Assistant coach: Sally Hicks

Download the 2011 season draw (updated Jan 19)

Bookmark and Share
Fixtures & Results

no news in this list.

Other Events
Football South Mainland football Capital Football Auckland Football Waikato BOP Football Northern Football Federation Central Football