Chatham Cup

Birkenhead earn title in thrilling fashion

Birkenhead United have claimed the first Chatham Cup title in their history after earning a 3-2 extra-time victory over fellow Aucklanders Waitakere City in a dramatic final at QBE Stadium this afternoon. In one of the… [more]


“The Chatham Cup has been the centrepiece of the domestic winter football schedule for almost 90 years. That storied history and tradition is built on every season with a raft of dramatic twists and turns and I’m sure this year’s competition will be no different.” NZ Football Community Director Cam Mitchell


Recent Champions

2016: Birkenhead United
2015: Eastern Suburbs
2014: Cashmere Technical
2013: Cashmere Technical
2012: Central United
2011: Wairarapa United
2010: Miramar Rangers


Chatham Cup news


Audio – Final

Paul Hobson (Birkenhead United coach)

Dan Morgan (Birkenhead United captain)


Photo Gallery

 Final: Birkenhead United vs Waitakere City

Jack Batty Trophy

Birkenhead's Tom Davis wins the player of the day. Chatham Cup Final. Birkenhead United vs Waitakere City. QBE Stadium, Auckland, New Zealand. Sunday 11 September 2016. © Copyright Image: Ben Campbell /

Birkenhead United’s Tom Davis receives the Jack Batty Trophy for player of the final. Photo by



Click here for all fixtures & results